The Orchestra


The Brazilian Symphony Orchestra (BSO) is the most traditional symphonic ensemble in Brazil and celebrated seventy five years of continuous trajectory in 2015.. This is a milestone in the artistic cycle which, in recent seasons, has increased the Orchestra's presence in the local cultural agenda and brought to Brazil musicians like Joshua Bell, Ivo Pogorelich, Menahem Pressler, Kathleen Battle and Dame Kiri Te Kanawa.

Recognized for its pioneering work, the BSO was the first Brazilian orchestra to perform tours, to give open-air performances and concerts for audience development, and to tour abroad. Its major commitments are the development of new audiences for symphonic music and the dissemination of a diverse repertoire, missions accomplished by having performed approximately four thousand concerts since its inception. In addition to revealing Brazilian talent such as Nelson Freire, Arnaldo Cohen and Antônio Meneses, the orchestra wrote its history with the participation of some of the greatest names in music in the twentieth century: Leonard Bernstein, Kurt Masur, Zubin Mehta, Kurt Sanderling, Arthur Rubinstein, Martha Argerich, Claudio Arrau, Salvatore Accardo, Mstislav Rostropovich, Jean-Pierre Rampal and José Carreras, among others.

The OSB is a private institution supported by the Rio de Janeiro City Government, the National Bank of Economic and Social Development (BNDES), Carvalho Hosken, and a group of private investors. Its series of concerts take place in three different places: Cidade das Artes, Theatro Municipal and Sala Cecília Meireles

Under the artistic direction of Mr. Pablo Castellar, the orchestra embraces a broad spectrum of music – from the Baroque to the contemporary composers –, the and seeks artistic excellence, social and educational goals.